500 (?) Days of Summer

It’s good to be writing again.

While the title above is that of a romantic love movie, I am writing a plan for my first ever relatively relaxed summer. My internship did not turn out the way I’d like them to and now I’m left with approximately 3 months to rest and work on more meaningful things.

Let’s come up with an awesome plan!

Final Year Project

This is my top priority this summer. I’m working on a project that has only recently piqued my interest in. Improving the performance of Deep Learning (DL) by accelerating arithmetic operations using Field Programmable Gate Arrays (FPGAs). While application projects of Artificial Intelligence are interesting, what excites me more is the way we could abuse the computer hardware that we have today to accelerate certain operations necessary for these applications. Google’s Tensor Processing Unit (TPU) is a pristine example of how they managed to create custom ASICs in order to speed up inference speeds of their models deployed in production.

In other words, we should improve the speed and efficiency of Deep Learning in order to be adopted by billions of application users worldwide while maintaining that crisp user experience. This is the one thing that drives me to wake up every morning, feeling excited about what I’m about to learn in the day ahead, at least for now.

Get back in shape again

Regina has been complaining about how I’m developing a belly. In my defense, spending a year in Silicon Valley has given me the opportunity to put on some weight. Now I’m finally not underweight.

But yes it is a good idea to start getting fit again. Hello swimming pool and the gym.

Read, or listen

3 months should be enough to clear the backlog of books that I’ve bought but have yet to find the time to read.

Also, I’ve subscribed to Audible for a couple of months now. Nothing beats listening to audio books while commuting. I am starting to consider dropping my Spotify subscription in order to sustain my Audible subscription. You get a audio book for ~$15 a month. That’s still cheaper than buying a book, and there’s no excuse to leave it on my backlog anymore because there’s always time to listen to a book. (Gosh this is such a first world problem)

Some books that has been ingested audibly are Elon Musk: Tesla, SpaceX, and the Quest for a Fantastic Future and The Subtle Art of Not Giving a Fuck. I’m currently listening to “4 3 2 1” by Paul Auster, a novel for a change. It is somewhat harder to listen to novels since we have to follow the narrative and it’s kind of difficult to do that over audio.

I am also reading How to Bake Pi. To be honest, I only bought it because it has an interesting title. But it turns out to be pretty darn interesting.

Masters application

Yep, I am hoping to further my studies while I still can. 🙂


That’s about it for my summer, hopefully it’ll turn out to be fruitful?

Pfft, I don’t know. What do people do during summer without an internship anyway? 😛

Leave a Reply

