Keep up the learning.

I am hitting a plateau.

It could mean a lot of things when I’ve reached a plateau. 

Firstly, it could mean that I am getting good at what I do. Which leads to what I like to call a pro comfort zone. It’s the nirvana of what you’ve been working for. The highest level of your skill.

Obviously, I’m not reaching, nor am I anywhere near that stage.

It simply means that I need to switch up my methods. Plainly reading has bored me, well sort of. Coding for the sake of coding everyday is desensitising my thirst for learning new things. It’s another comfort zone, but a fake pro comfort zone. Where I think I’m getting too good for myself, and instead fall into a vicious cycle of procrastination. We all know these excuses.

Oh I’ll do it tomorrow. It’s gonna go down tomorrow, I promise.

For a change, here’s what I have in mind for the upcoming month:

  1. Start on a new project, making use of what you’ve learnt from your previous project.
    I learnt quite a bit of Angular and new Javascript tools from my previous project, but I can’t seem to understand how it comes together. I ought to piece them together by myself to see clearly how each of them are connected. Take a look at my previous project here! It’s not perfect yet, and I plan to leave it that way. There are certain bugs which I cannot find (mostly due to typo), and solving them is too great an opportunity cost. I rather re-write an app that works, and learn something more out of it.

  2. Read more, but this time, more on coding.
    I’ve read lots of other stuff, but not programming specific articles. I always thought those stuff were too advanced for me. Oh design patterns, machine learning, etc. Everyone has to start somewhere. Perhaps reading about technical topics would encourage me to understand on a deeper level what is going on. 

    That being said, I’m still going to continue reading fiction and self-help books and articles. (Yes I’m looking at you A Song of Ice and Fire) Tembusu college has a great reading room, where reading is encouraged in it. No homework allowed! A great resolution would be to spend a minimum of 15 minutes in the reading room before bed everyday, just to read whatever. 🙂

  3. Edit one Wikipedia article everyday.
    What?! What has this got to do with anything at all?!

    I signed up for a Wikipedia account recently, and I found that there are lots of mini-tasks on Wikipedia to be done. Such as citing sources, grammatical errors, etc. All these work on my reading, writing, and most of all, research abilities. 

    What’s more, you get to learn something new everyday when you research Wikipedia topics! Isn’t that a win-win?

    I know, this sounds as ridiculous to me as it is to you. I’m not sure if this would work out fine, but you never know if you never try! 😀

  4. Keep coding.
    I don’t think I have to elaborate on this any further…

That’s what I have in mind so far. It’s three weeks before school starts, and I have two more school camps to attend. Which leaves me with just one week to achieve these small little goals. 

Until I hit another plateau, I’ll stick with these little habits! Code on, live on! 😛

Leave a Reply

