Learning alone is really tough…

But it’s the only road that I could take for now, NUS hackerschool went on hiatus due to the school holidays and, yeah that was basically the only place where I talked to someone else about coding. 

I finished problem set 4 of Harvard’s CS50, and I guess I’ve made a great leap forward by learning the FILE stream. There’s still about 3 more problem sets and I’m determined to finish them all! 

I’ve read on Quora here that learning alone is painful. Yes it is. It’s been a tough journey so far, trying to figure out everything I know by myself. I’m quite proud of it, but at the same time, I have to remain humble because I know those with mentors would have probably covered at least 5 times more content than me. I really hope for a mentor who would guide me in the right direction. Hell, I would be happy enough to have a friend who’s into coding as well. 

Maybe I’m just not lucky enough to have such people in my life. 

Honestly I don’t know how long more can I sustain learning by myself, but so far I’ve been doing fine for the past 6 months. It’s been half a year since I’ve started coding! 

Other than coding, I’ve been working out quite a lot too. Basketball and swimming. Trying to maintain an active lifestyle. Christmas is coming, and I do hope there’ll be great plans this year! (Considering that I missed last Christmas due to standby duty in camp)

That’s it, and I’ll probably do a 2013 wrap-up and a 2014 resolution post soon! 

It’s been a great six months of coding, and I’m looking forward to many many more! 🙂

One thought on “Learning alone is really tough…

Leave a Reply

