Hackerschool, my weekly remedy.

I’ve just came back from hackerschool, a really great programme by NUSHackers. I’ve been to two sessions so far, learnt some basic git and Expressjs (though I admit I really still suck at Expressjs, gotta play around with it more)

The past two weeks was really hectic. A parade that included two days of rehearsals, followed by a 4D3N outfield. The only thing that keeps my mind sane would be the hackerschool workshops every weekend. Just really glad that I have something to do to prevent myself from going insane.

It’s going to be around 5 more months to ORD, (effectively 3 more, since I’ll be in the mood during December before the finale in New Zealand once again) and it’s about time that I pick up even more programming skills. What I currently have would not get me far. I’ve only learnt very very basic C++, without any functional language which I could create something with. My abilities with HTML/CSS is still really mediocre and I do hope to brush it up.

The reason why I decided to go for this Express workshop despite not understanding much about HTML/CSS nor web app development is to let myself know how far do I stand among the rest. I know this isn’t a race nor a “hunger games among coders”, but I have no gauge since I’m just coding by myself most of the time. It’s good to see that other people are enjoying coding as much as I am.

Now what am I still lacking? The understanding of how the entire system works. It’s as though I understand bits and pieces here and there, but I’m failing to put them all together.

Well it’s comforting to know that I still have around a year to tinker around before my school life starts in computing. It’s competitive, I know, but at the same time, I really enjoy coding. Everytime a code works I feel like a wizard, more like Gandalf. Setting off fireworks while he was still grey.

That’s about it, I really hope one day, I’ll look back at my humble beginnings and tell myself…

Wow, you’ve come so far!

Keep hacking, ciao!

Leave a Reply

